Material Realism: It’s core failure

“The question of the nature and plausibility of realism is so controversial that no brief account of it will satisfy all those with a stake in the debates between realists and non-realists.”

Realism, Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

My discussion here will be even more abbreviated. I am not attempting either to define realism, nor argue for or against it. I note what I believe to be an interesting take on material realism and hope you will find it interesting.

What is Material Realism?

Well, I am off to a bad start. What I am talking about here is Realism. The Material is an extra bit that I use to emphasize my point. (You will see why below.)

The basic concept of realism, and the related concept Materialism, is that the universe – i.e. the quote real unquoteworld out there – that which really exists – is indeed more or less as we perceive it.